Gear Links
Bio Buy

Discs on sale!
Sound clips too!

Multipick Technique

Popular Links:

Join The Email List:
Zeroesque / Bio

About Zeroesque:

Clockwise from left: Rob DiRocco, Rob Smith, Shawn Christie, Tim Lehner
     Established in 2002, this Philadelphia-based instrumental prog-rock and fusion quartet is made up of guitarist Shawn Christie, keyboardist and producer Tim Lehner (Vinnie Moore, Magna Carta Records), bassist Rob Smith and drummer Rob DiRocco. They have released two full-length albums: their self-titled debut Zeroesque in 2003 and more recently Multipick Technique in 2008. Guest instrumentalists on these albums have included guitar bad-asses Vinnie Moore, Marco Sfogli, Derryl Gabel and Scott McGill, among others. Zeroesque is often compared to contemporary projects such as Liquid Tension Experiment and Planet X.

About Multipick Technique:

     With their second progressive instrumental album, Multipick Technique, Zeroesque has chosen catchy melodies and song structure above mindless acrobatics or soloing for the sake of soloing. Well, okay...there are still a ton of solos. However, with Zeroesque, the compositional integrity is always paramount during writing, recording...and even soloing.

     Falling in line with Zeroesque's critically-acclaimed self-titled debut CD, Multipick Technique continues the practice of exploring many different styles on one disc, a seeming faux pas in the sea of corporate-sponsored Johnny Pop-punks and teeny boppers that dominate the commercial music industry these days. While the prog-rock and fusion styles are represented on Multipick Technique, there are also well-crafted forays into funk, Latin and even smooth jazz.

     Perhaps there's also something to be said for musicians that display not only technical mastery of their instruments, but do so within songs that have hooks catchy enough for radio. Here's what some professional ears have to say about the first album:

"Wotta rush! The all-instrumental, self-titled debut by this Medford, New Jersey-based duo just may fill the void left by Liquid Tension Experiment." - Elias Granillo, Sea of Tranquility

"Their music is progressive rock for the new millennium, and with that I mean it's fresh, fast and heavy." - Andre Hagberg, Prognosis

"Fans of progressive rock a la Allan Holdsworth, Liquid Tension Experiment...listen up and pay attention." - George Thatcher, Heart of the Rock

"This is a splendid album, full of energy and spontaneity, strong riffs accompanied by skillful soloing." - Bob Mulvey, Dutch Progressive Rock Page

"...aggressive, instrumental, progressive fusion, music that is not merely dedicated to riffing for the sake of riffing, but carefully and technically constructed songs that allow the musicians to present their talents in tight ensemble play, as well as ample amounts of virtuoso moments." - MJ Brady, Prognosis

Some history:

     On a more historical note, Shawn and Tim have been playing together since they met in a high school music class in 1993. Josh Gasior, who provided the majority of the drumming on Zeroesque's first album, was also involved at that time, as he and Tim had jammed heavily during the prior year. The trio would initially call themselves Smoke and Mirrors. One of the early jams from this period was even added to a limited-release 5-song EP by Zeroesque in 2007, and there is still much in the vault from this time that may eventually see the light of day.

May, 2008

©2002-2023 Zeroesque
Web Hosting By Arvixe